Posing a Question

Today in class, we read the two essays by Peter Singer. These were some very interesting essays to read, with topics that were somewhat difficult to wrap your mind around. So……I thought that I would maybe pose another question to my readers, very similar to one of the ones that we were asked today and while reading the second essay tonight.

When a person eats meat, are they morally in the wrong? Many times, there are horrible cruelties inflicted on the animals while they are harvested for the flesh and products that people desire so ,over the world eat this meat even though some of these people know what happens to these animals. Does this make them like Bob, who knew that someone was going to be harmed immensely by choosing to do not nothing? Does doing nothing for these animals make people monsters(to take a word from the second essay)? Is it alright to do something that many people do, does the fact that “everyone does it” make it okay? Does the fact that many people don’t know about these cruelties make a difference? In the law, ignorance does not imply innocence, does it mean that in this case? Do any of you think that if the cruelties on animals were known all around the country and the world, that this would make a difference in the decisions that people made?Let’s say that the cruelties were well-known, would as many people eat meat if it would be made public that they ate this meat, even though there was harm inflicted on living beings?

I don’t personally think this, it is just a thought that came to my head while thinking of things to blog about this week. I just wanted to know what everyone else thought, I know that the analogy is almost nonexistent. The gap between children and the animals that I talk about is the largest gap that a person could think about. This is an example of an analogy that actually does not do anyhting for an arguement, but it is a question that could be asked.

Certainly you all have a thought on this subject and I would really love to hear it, who knows it might help me make a decision about some things to ask about in the essay for next term. So, if you could, just tell me what you would answer to the questions from above that would be helpful and I might be able use the answers for the next blog.

Leave a comment