Finally, the first draft is done….Actually that wasn’t too hard.

Last term, I remember the huge weight of fear that crashed down onto my shoulders when our teacher told us that we were going to have to actually write our own essay with our own sources and arguments. I spent the next couple of months loving the fact that I would not have to write the essay for class for a little while longer. Then, it was the week before we needed to have the first draft done. Everyone else freaked out, which told me that I was not the only procrastinator in the class. I mean I had done all the other parts of the essay preparation, but I thought that it was going to be like impossible to write the essay within the week. It did not help that the length of the essay was like way longer than one I had ever written.

Then I got started on the essay, I was pleasantly surprised with the fact that the arguments were easy to articulate, there was not really a moment when I was like, “**** I do not know what to say”.  I think that this was because this point of view is really easy to argue. There are tons of resources out there that help to illustrate whatever point you want, and a lot of the facts that are given are pretty intense and help your point. (Like the fact that alot of the animals are forced to live under chickens that defecate on top of them, this is a pretty intense point and one that is likely to gain you some listeners).  Certainly there are tons of people out there that believe a lot of the same things, so finding points and arguements that fits yours would be a real easy task. Even people that do not necessarily agree with vegetarianism can be helpful if they have animals like cats or dogs that they love and would do anything for.

People who advocate using natural methods are easy to use for your arguments, just in general being vegetarian is something that is easy to justify and makes me proud of who I am.  To someone who is on the fence, I say just look around. Research the topic, find out what you believe in and what you do not believe in, deciding what to do might be easier than you think. All you have to do is look.

Leave a comment