Does this Count as Vegetarianism?

So a long time ago I talked briefly about the fact that some people were telling me that many of the types of candy that are gummy-like are made from some sort of animal product. Once, a couple of years ago, my dad’s friend gave me crap about still eating marshmallows even thought they were made out of animal fat. I know that will this, he was just screwing with me. Recently, however, we watching a video in my chemistry class talking about certain types of materials that are used in our society. Gelatin was one such of these materials and I did find something out that I did not know before I watched this video.  Gelatin is made from the bones of various animals that have died, most often from the production of their meat for our consumption.

Gelatin is used in all sorts of awesome things, like gummy bears and ice cream. I personally can never see myself ever giving up these things and I feel kind of conflicted about saying this. I know that this product is made from the bones of animals and I know that some people would count this as not being vegetarian. I am not totally sure how I feel about this, on one hand, I love the foods that are most often made from this product so part of me says yes, that there is no reason to believe that this is not vegetarian, while the other side says no, that I am not being a true vegetarian, if I eat their bones in the candy that I really enjoy.

I want to know what you think, does this make me a fake vegetarian or not? Should I count myself as a vegetarian or is this cheating?

Leave a comment