The Beginnings of Something Wonderful

I am not totally sure about other people in my class, but I certainly have some fears about this essay that will be finishing off this term. I know what I’m going to say, and I have all my sources that I need for it, but it is the construction part, trying to make the essay flow and understandable that is the difficult part, and I want to try and make an essay that is as strong as possible; this is going to be no easy task, let me tell you. With the AP exams just around the corner(the one for this class is in like two weeks!!!!), I have been increasingly swamped with trying to balance AP Exam studying with homework for my other classes (and the AP classes as well). Let’s just say that in a few weeks, I will be a much happier camper. Maybe a little more relaxed, a little more athletic, a little more tan, just a little more of everything.
But I am getting away from the topic at hand. The essay. You can pretty much guess what will be covered, something to do about animal rights and food ethics. Since this is a pretty well known topic, I hope to try and make this essay as good as I can, one that people could agree with. The point of my essay will be factory farming and what it does, causes, arguements for it, arguements against it, all culminating in my belief that factory farming needs to be more regulated than it is today. My belief that we should have laws in place that guarantee the safety of animals, not laws that can be easily loopholed and ignored. We as humans are still animals. We may not look like them, eat like them, or smell like them(I guess maybe some people might git these categories), but we still owe it to them to treat them with some sort of dignity. Factory farming practices(and those of other free-range or organic companies) do not allow for the type of dignity that I am talking about.
When we go to the doctor, and we need surgery to remove something, doctors make sure that the patient is out cold before they do anything. The same can not be said for animals. Whenever animals need something removed or taken away, no such consideration is given to them. Many times, animals are castrated or have organs ampitated without any painkillers and they are certainly not to put to sleep first. On organic farms, this is because giving the animals some sort of medication would cause them to not be considered organic anymore and they could not make as much money (since everyone knows that organic is more expensive.) I fail to see the reasoning behind this fact, maybe it is because I am a little biased towards vegetarianism and do not agree with this practice. But I am just saying.

Leave a comment